Chocolate dipped pretzels are super simple and fun for all. However, if you have a dairy allergy they can be hard to come by. When I was growing up I made them by dipping pretzel rods into melted Wilton Candy Melts, which could be purchased in any color. But, they all contain dairy – trust me, I’ve read the back of every package. Bummer!
I recently purchased Premium Chocolatier’s Milkless Polar Dream White Bar and it was perfect! All of Premium Chocolatier’s candies are made in a dedicated gluten-free, dairy-free, egg-free, and nut-free facility. WOOHOO!!! We’ve tried a handful of their products and have fallen in love. I’m so grateful for companies who get it and go up and beyond to recreate foods that are allergy-friendly.
Check out the recipe below and get your kiddos involved. This is a fun family activity.
**I’ve struggled to find a good gluten-free alternative to the original pretzel rod, however, if you are looking for a gluten-free pretzel option, you might check out Mary’s Gone Crackers Sea Salt Pretzels. It might be a good substitution. Let me know if you’ve found a better one!!**
- 1 Bag of Pretzel Rods
- 4 Premium Chocolatier's Milkless Polar White Dream Bars, melted
- ¼ Cup Powdered Sugar
- In a microwave safe bowl or cup, melt the Polar White Dream Bars in 30-second intervals (at half power) until thoroughly melted. Stir frequently.
- In the meantime, place wax or parchment paper on your counter and a cooling rack on top.
- Once the chocolate has melted, mix in the powdered sugar. This acts as a thickening agent. (feel free to add more if needed)
- Dip ⅔ of each pretzel rod into the melted chocolate. Tap to remove excess chocolate.
- While holding the pretzel rod over a separate plate, pour desired sprinkles onto the chocolate while slowing turning the pretzel rod to ensure that all sides are covered.
- Set on the cooling rack to let dry. Once you've dipped all of your pretzel rods, chill for 20-30 minutes to allow the chocolate to set.
Be sure to read all of your labels. I have found many spices and other products (i.e. garlic powder) that include additional ingredients like soy.
Known Allergy Information (containing the major 8): Wheat/Gluten & Soy
**Disclaimer: Please note that every child’s sensitivity to their given allergen(s) varies. Some of the items that I use do contain “natural flavoring” and “spices” which is hard to determine if it is 100% allergy free. You should always check with the manufacturer to confirm that your child can have their product(s). The products that I list are items that I’ve been using for awhile and have proven to be safe for my boys (their allergies are dairy, egg, peanut, tree nut, fish, shellfish and sesame).**
**DISCLOSURE: This article contains affiliate links. If you purchase a product through an affiliate link, your cost will be the same, but Our Life As An Epi-Family will automatically receive a small commission. Your support is greatly appreciated and helps us spread our message. Opinions are always our own. You can read more about our Disclosure Policy, here.**